Amazon Customer Reviews

LA Times Festival of Books 2023

Liz
Liz
2022-10-08
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: Living Thirteen Years in Latin America Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck is a tale of the author’s life overseas as he travels and lives outside his country, the United States. His journey began in 1967 when he decided to take a departure from his life in university and join the Peace Corps. This decision occurred during a walk at university and ran into a representative of the Peace Corps, who was conducting interviews. This eye-opening opportunity gives Beck the motivation to change his direction in life, which leads him to El Salvador.The author’s story is authentic and gives readers an emphatic look into life in Latin America from the perspective of a volunteer with the Peace Corps, who quickly learns the socioeconomic situation of each country. Beck goes into lots of detail about his life in various countries, including the food, people, culture, and learning a new language.I thoroughly enjoyed the educational and personal perspective of the book, and I strongly recommend Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck to any reader who wants to join the Peace Corps, volunteer overseas, or travel extensively. I rate this incredible book 5 out of 5 stars for its human and authentic story of understanding what it’s like to be a volunteer.
Martha Custis
Martha Custis
2022-10-08
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: Glimpse into a fascinating life Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck is a glimpse into a fascinating life and one that only a few of us experience. It’s a story that gives readers an inside look into the gripping journey of H Lynn Beck, who joins the Peace Corp for a change in pace, only to encounter fascinating, but often challenging experiences living and working in Latin America. Beck details his experiences traveling with the Peace Corps through Puerto Rico, Mexico, Brazil, Nicaragua, and more. He gives the reader an inside look at what it’s like for people in various countries, regions, and living conditions.When I read this book, I found that Beck gives a raw, realistic account of how people live in other countries and how he had to adjust his point of view in many ways. The author encounters many struggles, and adjustments are needed to change his point of view, which is both humbling and enlightening. Beck explains the struggle of trying to work and run a business amid high inflation and government corruption, as well as daily struggles to learn a new language and culture.I found this book to be interesting and entertaining. The author writes with an easy-going pace and unassuming writing style that makes the book a pleasant reading experience. His life spends abroad helps him evolve into a mature adult through his adventures. I appreciate the light-hearted nature of the author, despite many of the challenges he encounters, which is a great blend of knowledge, personal experience, and important life lessons.Beck details how the Peace Corps made an impact on his life and how traveling across Latin America was eye-opening and opened his mind to the realities of culture, natural disasters, such as the Nicaraguan earthquake, and the amazing people he meets along his journey. I felt the book was well balanced, which is something that can often be lacking in autobiographical stories. I rate Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck 5 out of 5 stars for an exceptional read. It’s a book I would definitely read over again.
Ane Sanchez
Ane Sanchez
2022-10-07
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: Living Thirteen Years in Latin America. Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck is a book about the amazing, moving experiences of living and working overseas. The story includes three books, “Living in El Salvador,” “Living in Nicaragua,” and “Living in Brazil.” After reading all three, I’m intrigued by the well-written stories of this author and look forward to more.The story begins with Beck as a young adult studying agriculture at university. He finds himself lost and bored with his life and decides to join the Peace Corps, an incredible experience that we would continue with for many years throughout his life. It’s a decision that would lead Beck to live unforgettable experiences, and amazing adventures, from learning new languages and battling difficult obstacles, from challenging training to adapting to new cultures and living conditions as he works with local farmers.While I only read the book once, it deserves a second round, as it’s intensely detailed and riveting. It’s a well-structured novel with lots of anecdotal, personal experiences that narrates like a diary. In my opinion, it’s well-written and captured my attention from beginning to end. Beck has a way of creating an empathetic bond with the reader and how he dealt with tragic circumstances, challenges, and success throughout his life.I truly enjoyed reading this fantastic story and rate Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck 4 out of 5 stars for its rich, rewarding narration about overcoming challenges and embracing humanity.
Conscientious
Conscientious
2022-10-07
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: Brilliant read! Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H. Lynn Beck is the journey of a lifetime. It’s a story, an autobiography, about an exceptional life that few people are fortunate to experience. This book is a beautiful recollection of life that’s lived to its fullest, and with great satisfaction, despite challenges along the way. Beck details his life from the beginning, where he evolves from a young farm boy with aspirations of working in agriculture to finding himself overseas working with the Peace Corps.Traveling extensively transforms Beck’s life, as he spends time working and living in Puerto Rico, El Salvador, Brazil, and Nicaragua. During his travels, he learns new languages and develops an understanding of different cultures and people and a deeper appreciation for gratitude for what many people take for granted.On the author’s days off in between work, he explores new places and constantly seeks to learn and discover, which is eye-opening and heartfelt. His genuine interest in Latin American culture and life is refreshing and fascinating as he learns about his own position of privilege and how he can help others. It’s a brilliant read.When I began reading this book, I couldn’t put it down. It’s a truly satisfying story that’s life-enriching and adventurous. I’m thankful for the author in his ability to relate to the reader on a deeply human level, which includes his struggles adapting to new living conditions and learning Spanish, a humbling but rewarding experience. Beck shares many moving moments throughout his professional and personal life, including his struggles with finances and how he needed to make difficult decisions based on circumstances. Overall, Beck’s life story is incredible, and it gives people a sense of the author’s values and how his travels, work, and personal life impacted how he views the world.I really enjoyed the adventurous nature of Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck and rate it 5 out of 5 stars. It’s an intimate yet thought-provoking read about discovering new places and how they became a major part of the author’s life, along with his love of agriculture. It’s a fantastic book, and a highly recommend it, especially for young people considering traveling overseas.
Juan
Juan
2022-10-07
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: Absolutely recommended! Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck is a great story written by a Nebraskan author who offers an interesting story about life abroad in Latin America. This series comprises three books, “Living in El Salvador”, “Living in Nicaragua”, and “Living in Brazil.” The story follows the writer’s adventures and difficulties he faces along his journey, including learning new languages, adapting to new cultures, and facing new situations.I like the simplicity of the book and how the author honestly and humbly describes his journey through his lived experiences in a way that’s fascinating and enjoyable to read. Beck has a way of gripping the reader’s attention and keeping you captivated throughout each tale and experience, which only drew me in more. It was a hard book to put down!What I enjoyed about Beck’s writing style is that it’s simple, easy to read, and deals with complex issues and experiences all at once. He brings the reader on each journey, so they can absorb the details of his life in each country and region where he works and lives. It’s my first time reading a book by H Lynn Beck, and I look forward to more of his work in the future. He offers practical advice and how he learned to face many obstacles, use common sense and develop connections with people.I really devoured this book and found the story exciting and interesting. It’s a great story for anyone who is interested in traveling extensively or working overseas. I really enjoyed the book and rate Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck 4 out of 5 stars for a good read. The other has a lot of potentials and I look forward to reading more from him.
Dan86
Dan86
2022-10-06
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: A good read Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck is a captivating story that follows the author’s journey, a departure from ordinary life in college to join the Peace Corps and travel overseas. Beck’s motivation originated from an experience of working with students and as a farm administrator in Nebraska, where he imagined traveling and working abroad would be a great life experience. From the very start of his adventure, Beck is sent to El Salvador, where he learns to speak Spanish while helping locals with agricultural tasks. His passion for farming and helping people extends his travels to thirteen years, where he visited, worked, and lived in various other countries.I found the book very compelling, as the author delves into his work with various communities and people, confronting difficult scenarios and making new friends and wonderful experiences throughout his time in Latin America. I feel that as we experience life, we encounter signs that guide us in the ways or paths that will lead to our destiny, and Beck’s story follows a similar path, which gives readers that extra “push” needed to pursue their dreams.Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck is an entertaining read, and I give the book 4 out of 5 stars. It’s a fantastic story of courage and inspiration and how satisfying it is to learn about different cultures, societies, and ideas while embarking on new adventures. It’s a wonderful book about overcoming obstacles and finding a life path involving self-growth and discovery. I strongly recommend this book!
Nela
Nela
2022-10-05
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: Interesting and thought-provoking Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck is a rich compilation of three books, a memoir of the author’s life and travel experiences in Latin America. When Beck makes the decision to join the Peace Corps, after graduating with a degree in agriculture from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln, he embarks on thirteen years of travel, which included living and working in Mexico, Belize, Panama, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Honduras, and Costa Rica.In his second book, Beck details how he spent a year working with farmers in Brazil and his experience living in Nicaragua. The narration is done in the first person, which gives the story a heartfelt, personal touch and gives the reader a sense of familiarity in the author. I found the writing to be conversational, straightforward, and authentic, which helps the reader feel closer and more empathetic. There is a clear, established tone throughout the book, which makes it easy to read, and hard to put down.I felt the personal struggles the author experienced as he shared his heartfelt journey, including how he learned to speak Spanish, the difficult living conditions in certain places, and how he faced adversity and challenges with courage. I enjoyed how Beck delves into his social development with every chapter, and how it impacts his life, marriage, and career.I was pleasantly surprised by how interesting and thought-provoking this autobiography was, and I highly recommend it. I look forward to reading more books from this author, and I rate Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H Lynn Beck 5 out of 5 stars for its exceptional writing style and the author’s life experiences.
Susan Bi.
Susan Bi.
2022-10-05
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: I enjoyed it a lot Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by author H. Lynn Beck is an autobiography of an author’s incredible journey living and working in several Latin American countries for thirteen years. This autobiography is a three-part series that includes fifteen chapters which include “Living in El Salvador”, “Living in Nicaragua”, and “Living in Brazil.” Beck gives the readers a glimpse into his early life, growing up on a farm in Nebraska, and how he joined the Peace Corps after graduating from university.The book is a raw but realistic story of how the author struggled to learn Spanish, a language he had never spoken previously and adjust to different cultures and people while living and working in various conditions. I found the book touching, as I experienced living overseas years ago, and the author’s vivid, thoughtful descriptions and narration brought up a lot of memories for me.Beck writes in beautifully moving prose, which details her struggles and triumphs in adapting to a new climate and culture, from one country or region to the next. She documents everything like a diary, which I found deeply profound and emotional. It’s an inspirational story that captures the heart and gives readers the realities of experiencing life outside of our comfort zone while exploring the world.I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the author’s personal journey through difficult times and successes, and ultimately, a fantastic story. I rate Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by author H. Lynn Beck 5 out of 5 stars for its beautiful style and touching narration.
Falon Charles-Jabri
Falon Charles-Jabri
2022-10-04
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: A revealing and intriguing personal account of volunteering with the Peace Corps Living Thirteen Years in Latin America is a memoir by H. Lynn Beck. This book tells the author’s journey, an ordinary farm boy from Nebraska who decides to join the Peace Corps and travel abroad. This memoir follows the author’s encounters as he learns Spanish and ventures through Latin America to work and live. With minimal money and depending on his limited but developing language skills, Beck shares his feelings of uncertainty, fear, and inferiority, but also the kindness of strangers and support when it's most needed.Over time, Beck builds his confidence and Spanish-speaking skills and confronts his feelings of insecurity. As he shares navigating terrain and areas in certain countries that presented many challenges, Beck takes the initiative and faces them head-on. The book is presented as a refreshing view of the firsthand experience of Peace Corps volunteers as they are immersed in new cultures and personal journeys.I found Beck’s memoir a well-balanced read with quirky humour and many anecdotes. He details some of his first experiences with certain food, drinks, culture, and people and how not every interaction or adventure was easy or smooth. His recollections are well written, and he paints a vivid but realistic view of what it’s like to live and work abroad. While for many people, this is a dream, Beck carefully outlines all the risks involved while remembering good times and learned experiences throughout his travels.Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H. Lynn Beck reads as though the author wrote down his life as it unfolded during his journey, which makes for a raw, engaging story. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars for his intriguing personal account of volunteering with the Peace Corps and how it shaped him on a personal level.
Marcia
Marcia
2022-10-01
Living Thirteen Years in Latin America: Honest account Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H. Lynn Beck is a book that’s intended to take you on a trip without leaving your home. It’s not a dreamy, picture-perfect holiday destination, but it’s an exciting, realistic read about life’s unexpected rollercoaster ride and how the author, H. Lynn Beck, experiences this part of the globe on a personal level. In this book, we read about how he lives, works, and explores Nicaragua, El Salvador, and Brazil. He also spends three months in Puerto Rico, as he wants to learn Spanish. Along his journey, he encounters many memorable people and places and makes incredible memories that will make you laugh, cringe, and think.Living abroad is never easy. The cultural differences and language barriers can make things challenging, though the author makes it clear that despite these obstacles, there are rich and rewarding experiences. Beck never sugar-coats his life abroad but details the realities of traveling and working in multiple countries after applying to the Peace Corps after college.I appreciate how the author describes how everything unfolds in a way that is relatable to readers. His life began in Nebraska as a boy growing up on a farm, and his desire to travel and learn took him to new places and experiences. The book isn’t always a smooth read, as the author details the conquests, challenges, and struggles he encounters along his journey. He demonstrates strong willpower and eagerness to continue learning, which is humbling and refreshing.I thoroughly enjoyed reading this memoir, and I recommend this book to anyone interested in traveling abroad or curious about the experiences of other people. It’s a valuable glimpse into a world of different cultures, traditions, and communities. I rate Living Thirteen Years in Latin America by H. Lynn Beck 5 out of 5 stars for its incredible writing and honesty.
About the Author
About the Author